AWARDS: Organization of American Historians 2018 List

Awardees of interest include Brittney C. Cooper, Tiya Miles (twice), Edward L. Ayers, Richard White, Ula Yvette Taylor, Deirdre Cooper Owens, Ashley D. Farmer, Tera W. Hunter, C. Riley Snorton (honorable mention), Alexandra J. Finley, and Nakia D. Parker.

Continue reading “AWARDS: Organization of American Historians 2018 List”

AWARD: 2018 AAIHS Award Recipients Announced

Congratulations Dr. Sasha Turner for winning the 2018 Maria Stewart Journal Article Prize for her article “The Nameless and the Forgotten: Maternal Grief, Sacred Protection, and the Archive of Slavery,” Slavery and Abolition, 38: 1 (2017): 232-250.

Continue reading “AWARD: 2018 AAIHS Award Recipients Announced”

NEWS: Wheat Wins Tubman Book Prize

David Wheat has been awarded the 2017 Harriet Tubman Book Prize from the Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery, at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture for Atlantic Africa and the Spanish Caribbean, 1570-1640 (UNC, 2016).

Continue reading “NEWS: Wheat Wins Tubman Book Prize”

NEWS: AAIHS Wins Rosenzweig Prize

Keisha N. Blain and Ibram X. Kendi have been awarded the Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History to a freely available new media project for Black Perspectives (African American Intellectual History Society).

Continue reading “NEWS: AAIHS Wins Rosenzweig Prize”

NEWS: Mustakeem Wins Wesley-Logan Book Prize

Sowande’ M. Mustakeem has been awarded the Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history from the American Historical Association for Slavery at Sea: Terror, Sex, and Sickness in the Middle Passage (Univ. of Illinois Press, 2016)

Continue reading “NEWS: Mustakeem Wins Wesley-Logan Book Prize”

NEWS: Wheat Wins Rawley Book Prize

David Wheat has been awarded the James A. Rawley Prize for the integration of Atlantic worlds before the 20th century from the American Historical Association for Atlantic Africa and the Spanish Caribbean, 1570–1640 (Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture and the Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2016)

Continue reading “NEWS: Wheat Wins Rawley Book Prize”

NEWS: Haley Wins Kelly Memorial Book Prize

Sarah Haley has been awarded the Joan Kelly Memorial Prize for women’s history and/or feminist theory from the American Historical Association for No Mercy Here: Gender, Punishment, and the Making of Jim Crow Modernity (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2016).

Continue reading “NEWS: Haley Wins Kelly Memorial Book Prize”

AWARD: Colored Conventions Wins MLA Award

#ADPhD congratulations the Colored Conventions Project which has won the tenth biennial MLA Prize for a Bibliography, Archive, or Digital Project.

Continue reading “AWARD: Colored Conventions Wins MLA Award”